5 Tips for Landlords
Every landlord must have a solid strategy in place in order to get their property rented. A few questions that landlords have asked us are:
- Rental Estimate: How much can I rent my house for?
- Can a landlord tell you how clean to keep your house?
- Do landlords have to do a walk through?
- So, no tenants can be evicted?
- Do you have to give 60 days notice at the end of a lease?
- ¿Tiene que dar 60 dias de anticipación al final de un contrato de arrendamiento?
Welcome to our “Questions of the Week” series of blog posts where we will address some of the most common questions landlords ask us when renting out their properties. We welcome your comments and questions, so please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have anything to add.
Here are 5 landlord tips that will help you become a successful landlord.
1. Rental Estimate: How much can I rent my house for?
There are several factors that contribute to a great rental estimate, including the property size number of bedrooms and bathrooms, the overall total finished square footage, the location condition, and finishes. I like to take a look at properties that are also currently listed on the market to see what they’re listed for, how long they’ve been listed and how much interest they received during their time on market.
2. Can a landlord tell you how clean to keep your house?
Unless there’s a threat to health or safety, a landlord cannot typically dictate how clean a tenant keeps their property.
3. Do landlords have to do a walk through?
Property walk throughs help ensure that your property stays in the right condition. It’s recommended to do a property walk through before a tenant moves in and after a tenant moves out. It’s important to take photos at these walk throughs. If you need to retain some or all of a security deposit to remedy damages at the property.
4. So, no tenants can be evicted?
The Order is not a complete moratorium on evictions. Non-monetary lease violations are not protected under this order. Landlords may continue to serve demands for compliance, notices to quit for a repeat violation, notices to quit for substantial violations and a notice of non-renewal. Landlords can charge tenants late fees, penalties, or interest for nonpayment of rent. Tenants are still obligated to pay rent and comply with their leases.
5. Do you have to give 60 days notice at the end of a lease?
Colorado law requires a 30-day notice to vacate for tenants. However, it’s a great idea to give a 60-day notice. This allows ample time to prepare the property for going back on the market. Therefore this also gives the existing tenants enough time to find their next home.
5. ¿Tiene que dar 60 dias de anticipación al final de un contrato de arrendamiento?
La ley de Colorado requiere un aviso de 30 días antes de que finalice el contrato de arrendamiento para que los inquilinos desocupen la vivienda. Sin embargo, es una buena práctica proporcionar un aviso de 60 días de anticipación para desalojar. Esto le da tiempo suficiente para prepararse para enlistar la propiedad nuevamente. Al dar un aviso de 60 días también le dará suficiente tiempo al inquilino actual para encontrar su próxima casa.
When it comes to maintaining rental properties, there are generally two main people involved: the landlord and a property manager. While having a property manager isn’t required, more and more landlords are continuing to invest in the help of full-service property management companies.
Are you looking for ways to become a successful landlord? Fill out the form below for a free rental estimate or talk to a real person 303‑665‑7368.